collected sentimentality.

There’s been plenty of times in my blogs that I’ve referred to my taste in jewellery as selective, simple and personal.  Generally when I travel these bits and pieces grow dramatically until I’m tinky-tinkiting around town and claiming bits of string I find on the ground have karmic significance. My collection of rings, bracelets, anklets and pendants are all meaningful and, as I evolve, gather more memories, and layer more jewellery the jingling noises get louder and my collected sentimentality grows too.

The chain that I wear around my neck daily is no exception and all of the pendants on it represent a person, story or experience either past or present.

Without further a due, let me introduce you to my collected sentimentality.

From left to right:

Image

Camera – for obvious reasons. Ever captivated by the challenge of how I can most honestly portray bits of life through a lens I’m frequently described as constantly having a camera glued to my hand.

Vishnu – Yes Vishnu, the popular Hindu god, venerated by the Hindus as the Supreme Being. I bought this the first time I was in Thailand for about 50c and have cherished it ever since. Once upon a time my best friend explained to me that the ‘Divine Lord’ is kind of the Hare Krishna’s version of a deity. Since knowing Libby we’ve developed a joint, personal co-dependency on “the divine lord”, often trying to appease him/her by doing sporadic good deeds before we went out/went on holidays/asked a boy out so that we would be granted positivity. The Krisha’s don’t believe in material possessions so the divine lord can be present in any object or form that you allow it to be, I think there’s some correlation between Vishnu and the divine lord so I’ve always seen this pendant as representative of that. I like to think that it looks after me when I travel and it’s always a link to Libby.

Tiffany’s Padlock – 21st present from my college girlfriends. Oh the days of studying Events Management and sharing pieces of Vegemite Turkish toast because we couldn’t afford our own. (I still can’t.)

Fortune Coin – purchased on one of my favourite holidays to one of my favourite places in the world; Byron Bay. Also signifies the real beginning of my interest in Tarot cards. Unfortunately I can’t read fortune coins but I like to think they’re similar to a good luck charm.

Spanner – I got this from a boy I like to call my ‘Lobster’. Kinda similar to ‘the one that got away’…think unrequited love.

Tiffany’s Apple – from one of my great loves. He used to say my cheeks looked like apples when I smile.

Spoon – Originally this was a small vial with a twist top and the spoon was attached so you could use it to dip into the vial (you get the idea). My brother’s best friend (and now a very good friend of my own) bought this for me while we were travelling through Spain and Portugal together.  It reminds me of Barcelona, the poignant musical moments, the ridiculously amazing festivals we went to and all the laughs we had. Mid breakdown later in that trip when I was flying from Portugal to France (alone) I looked down and realised the vial had fallen off my necklace. I was devastated and promptly collapsed into a heap, listened to Apparat’s “Candil de la Calle” on repeat and cried for a really long time on the floor of Paris’ Orly airport. I haven’t been able to bring myself to tell him yet that it’s gone. Sorry Nathatron! x

Ball – a gift from Libby. She bought it to reflect my frequently used saying  and sometimes life philosophy “there’s so much beauty in simplicity”.

Key – this is the actual key to the jewellery box in these pictures. The box was a gift to my mum for her 21st birthday. Keys are recurringly symbolic for me, I’m not really sure why. I think I like the idea of being able to lock and unlock certain feelings and thoughts.

Wing – from the other great love.  It’s probably an angel wing but I always related it to feathers.

Feather – Also from Libby. Feathers have always symbolised freedom to me. At my 21st Mum gave me the advice: “Above all else value you your freedom, not just for yourself but for others”.  It stuck.

ImageSo, one day when you catch me catch me, alone, rolling one of the pendants between my fingers, staring off into the distance with a twinkly look in my eye and laughing to myself you’ll know vaguely what I’m thinking about….unless I’ve made up a story about flicking someone in the face with my sparkly unicorn tail or going on a date in a double story Lamborghini.

x j.

2 thoughts on “collected sentimentality.

Leave a Reply

